Seminole County Domestic Violence Attorneys
Domestic Violence Charges Florida
Domestic violence charges in the state of Florida carry a mandatory minimum sentence of five days in the county jail and often incur harsh penalties. At The Law Office of David A. Webster, P.A., our Longwood domestic violence lawyers proudly serve Seminole, Orange, and Volusia Counties. We possess over 30 years of combined experience and can defend you against domestic violence claims.
Contact us to learn more about how our domestic violence lawyer in Seminole County can defend you.
What Are Florida’s Domestic Violence Laws?
In the state of Florida, victims may seek protection against domestic violence through both criminal and civil court. Injunctions, also called restraining orders, can be filed against a person accused of domestic violence. In addition, victims may take their case to criminal court, and our Seminole County domestic violence attorneys can provide knowledgeable legal advice to help you seek a favorable outcome.
People who may bring charges of domestic violence include:
- Relative related by blood or marriage
- Co-parent of a child
- Other member of the household
The state of Florida also acknowledges domestic violence charges between people in a dating relationship. By definition, this involves an intimate, romantic, or sexual relationship between two people. Domestic violence charges may also involve other charges including assault, aggravated assault, battery, aggravated battery, stalking, kidnapping, and sexual assault and battery.
Defense Against Domestic Violence Charges
Domestic violence charges in Florida carry severe penalties. That is why you should seek experienced legal counsel as soon as possible to help protect your rights and pursue a favorable outcome. At The Law Office of David A. Webster, P.A., our criminal defense attorneys can answer your questions and provide diligent defense throughout the process.
Penalties for domestic violence convictions may include:
- Jail sentence of 60 days to one year for misdemeanor charges
- Prison sentence for up to five years for third degree felony charges
- Prison sentence for up to 15 years for second degree felony charges
- Community service
Whether you are facing misdemeanor or felony charges, the penalties can disrupt your life and put a permanent stain on your criminal record. With our domestic violence lawyers in Seminole County, you can get passionate representation to defend you in court. We strive to provide informative defense services and can diligently work to build and present your case.
Call us at (407) 326-0650 to learn more about our defense services today.
David A. Webster Is a Former Prosecutor
24/7 Availability When You Need It Most
30+ Years of Combined Legal Experience
Thousands of Satisfied Clients
Top 100 Trial Lawyer by The National Trial Lawyers, 2016
Distinguished by Martindale-Hubbell® in 2016