Is Edible Marijuana Allowed in Florida?
In 2019, smoking medical marijuana was legalized in Florida, while edible medical marijuana was more recently legalized in August 2020. For context, edibles are cannabis-infused food and beverage products that come in the form of candy, chocolate, desserts, drinks, and more. Florida’s legislative progressions on medical marijuana allow qualified patients to get their hands on a wider selection of cannabis products. As such, you need a Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry card to purchase edibles in Florida.
What medical conditions may qualify you for a medical marijuana card? They are:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Chron’s diseases
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Terminal illness
- Chronic nonmalignant pain
- Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those listed above
Although edible medical marijuana is legal in Florida, there are limits. Under the law, the following rules for edible medical marijuana apply:
- Edibles cannot have primary or bright colors to minimize attraction to children
- Edibles can come in the form of lozenges, gelatins, baked goods, chocolates and drink powders
- Edibles must not resemble any commercially available candy
- Edibles must be packaged appropriately
- Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) levels in edibles must not exceed 10 mg in single servings or 200 mg in multi-servings
While the future of cannabis is bright in Florida, we must not forget how easy it can become for unqualified patients to get their hands on edibles. For instance, if your friend has a Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry card, you may ask them to pick up edibles for you when they go to the dispensary. If your friend agrees, they are not only committing a crime but increasing your chances of getting caught with illegal drugs by the police.
Possessing edible medical marijuana without a valid medical marijuana card can land you with drug possession charges in Florida. Not to mention, a drug test can detect THC in your blood for 3 to 4 days, saliva for up to 3 days, urine for up to 30 days and hair for a maximum of 90 days. So even if you ingested an edible two weeks ago, a drug test could detect the THC in your system for months afterward. If convicted of drug possession in Florida, you could suffer the following penalties:
- First offense: $500 to $1,000 fine, 6-month driver’s license suspension and/or up to 6 months in prison.
- Second offense: $1,000 to $2,000 fine, a maximum 1-year license revocation, 1-year ignition interlock device installation and/or up to 9 months in jail.
Edible medical marijuana laws are tough in Florida, and anyone who possesses cannabis without a Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry card could be looking at serious repercussions. With this in mind, if you are facing drug charges, know that your case could be defendable. When you retain our lawyer to represent you, we can assess the circumstances that lead to your charges and all evidence tied to your case to better determine your odds of resolving your charges.
With 30+ years of combined experience, our team of attorneys has what it takes to help you come out on top. Wait no longer to contact us at (407) 326-0650 to learn more!