College students may believe that being under 21 years of age and having a fake ID is considered a rite of passage. They will often use a fake, false, or altered driver’s license or identification card to purchase alcohol or gain entry into a bar, club, or another establishment where you are required to be 21 to enter the premises.
However, according to Florida law, unauthorized possession of any other unlawful acts related to driver license or identification cards are punishable by severe penalties.
Fake IDs include any identification that has been altered in any way, forged, or illegally manufactured. It is against the law to display, or have in your possession any canceled, suspended, fictitious, or fraudulently altered driver’s license.
Penalties for Fake ID Crimes in Florida:
- Consequences for possession of any fake driver’s license or state ID card not produced lawfully by the appropriate government agency is a felony of the third degree and carries a maximum penalties of up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
- Possession of any driver’s license or state ID card not produced lawfully by the appropriate government agency is a felony of the third degree, and carries with it maximum penalties of up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
- Selling, issuing, or offering any ID card or other document giving the age of someone without requiring proof of age is a felony.
- Giving a police officer a false name or use fake identification upon being arrested or legally detained is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine of up to $1,000. However, if your unlawful use of another person’s name or identification results in that person being adversely affected, you are guilty of a felony.
- Using someone else’s driver’s license or state-issued ID card is considered a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 60 days, a $500 fine, and possibly driver’s license suspension for one year.
- Letting another person borrow your driver’s license or state-issued ID card is also a second-degree misdemeanor.
If you are facing criminal charges for any alleged offense involving a fake ID as a college student in Florida, your education and future are at stake. Not only do you face extensive jail or prison sentences and costly fines, but having a criminal record can make it difficult to obtain employment, find a place to live, apply for a loan, and even register for college classes.
The Law Office of David A. Webster, P.A. is committed to protecting your rights and future. With more than 30 years of combined experience, our Seminole County criminal defense attorneys understand what it takes to obtain the most favorable outcome possible and get your life back on track.
For more information, contact us and schedule a free consultation today.